29 August 2010

Therion news bits

Therion is one of my favourite metal bands ever...progressive in their own right, gothic, symphonic, and occasionally very very heavy. Lots of stuff happening in their camp right now as they gear up for their first new studio album in a few years. Let's get right to it:

Snowy Shaw back in Therion:

After just having left THERION, singer and legend Snowy Shaw apparently missed Christofer Johnsson and co. faster than expected! "We are very happy to announce that Snowy has rejoined THERION. We welcomed him back with open arms, and we will now be making a mix between the new show we had planned, and the last one which involved Snowy. We think the merger between the two concepts will be incredible, and we look forward to taking the bands' live performance to the next level," says Christofer Johnsson.

Touring news and cancellations:

The tour schedule has changed: The shows in Caracas (Venezuela), Chihuahua and Puebla (both Mexico) have to be cancelled and the show in Santiago de Chile has moved to the Teatro Caupolican. In Europe there will be an additional show - on the 11th of December Therion will play in Istanbul, at Refresh the Venue (which is really named like that).

The following message is from Christofer: "We are very sad to announce that the shows in Chihuahua and Puebla in Mexico have been cancelled. The situation with the drug cartels is becoming worse and worse in the north and the local authorities strongly advise against playing concerts in Chihuahua (and of course Monterray which also has been rumoured we would be playing), so the national promoter in Mexico has decided to cancel Chihuahua as the safety of the band, crew and fans cannot be guaranteed at this point. The Puebla festival has also been cancelled due to some sort of drug cartel related civil unrest problems. There seems to be no risk for the remaining shows in Mexico and the band hope that there will be other shows to replace the cancelled ones in other parts of the country.

Seems like the world is going crazy at the moment, as the Caracas show in Venezuela will be cancelled as well. Local promoter is having economic problems and didn't want to risk fucking everything up from what I've heard. So better to cancel and try to replace it with another show in some other country than to risk standing there with thousands of fans buying tickets and maybe making a long journey from another city just to end up with no show happening. We hope we will be able to do Venezuela some time in the future, we were really looking forward to playing there."

Track Listing for new album

Therion's new album Sitra Ahra has the following track listing:

1. "Introduction/Sitra Ahra"
2. "Kings of Edom"
3. "Unguentum Sabbati"
4. "Land of Canaan"
5. "Hellequin"
6. "2012"
7. "CĂș Chulainn"
8. "Kali Yuga Part 3"
9. "The Shells Are Open"
10. "Din"
11. "Children of the Stone: After the Inquisition"

It is due for release on 17 September 2010 on Nuclear Blast Records.

For more information:

1 comment:

martine juron said...


great news