23 September 2008

Rush: Snakes and Arrows live DVD release news


"Thanks to epic songs, fantastical lyrics and extravagant drum solos, [Rush] rocks on through the 21st century...the scope of [their] achievements is undeniable..." Rolling Stone

September 22, 2008, Burlington, MA - Zoë Vision/Anthem Entertainment is pleased to announce the release of the Snakes & Arrows Live DVD on November 25 from the legendary rock trio RUSH. This 3 disc DVD set, also available as a Blu-ray Disc, follows their Zoë Vision DVD releases Rush-R30 (2005) and Rush in Rio (2003).

The Snakes & Arrows Live DVD (full track listing below) was filmed with 21 High Definition cameras in 16x9 widescreen format, over two nights in October 2007 at the Netherlands’ Ahoy Rotterdam arena during the renowned rock trio’s lengthy world tour. Additional SD footage was filmed in Atlanta this past July. The five month trek supporting Rush’s critically acclaimed 2007 studio release, Snakes & Arrows, which includes the Grammy® Award-nominated track, "Malignant Narcissism," topped Pollstar’s Top 100 2007 Tours list at #12.

While previous DVD releases showcase different sides of the band , this DVD offers fans a rare and close up look at the prodigious musicianship for which the band is renown. Cameras follow bassist and vocalist Geddy Lee, guitarist Alex Lifeson and drummer Neil Peart, closely, capturing not only their playing, note for note, but also the intimacy they share on stage. The diverse track list includes many new songs from Snakes & Arrows as well as old favorites like “Tom Sawyer” and “Freewill” plus an explosive rendition of "Between the Wheels."" Among the hidden gems and numerous special tour moments included as extras is the fan coveted "What’s That Smell" vignette and outtakes, a skit used to intro the second set, which capitalizes on the still emerging comedic talents of both Alex and Geddy who excel (and revel) in their roles as wild characters. Featuring collector’s quality packaging and a choice of Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound or PCM Stereo for a superior audio experience, the DVD was mixed by frequent collaborator Richard Chycki (Aerosmith, Mick Jagger). Total running time is 221 minutes.

Snakes & Arrows made a triumphant debut on the Billboard 200 upon its release May 2007, entering the chart in the #3 spot. The album’s popular success marked Rush’s highest chart debut since 1993, as well as the group’s eleventh top ten album in the U.S. Snakes & Arrows also debuted at #3 in the band’s native Canada and at #13 in the UK - the band’s highest British chart ranking in 16 years. In addition, the album premiered in the top ten in Sweden and Finland, and in the top twenty in Norway, the Netherlands, and Japan.

Since releasing their self-titled debut album in 1974, Rush has been universally regarded as one of the most inventive and compelling groups in rock, famed for virtuoso musicianship. Celebrated, critically acclaimed and respected worldwide, Rush is the most successful Canadian rock band of all time and they remain one of the biggest grossing arena rock bands ever. Their extraordinary body of work - which includes such acclaimed works as 1976’s 2112, 1981’s Moving Pictures, 1996’s Test for Echo, and 2002’s Vapor Trails - has achieved worldwide sales exceeding 35 million units.

Track Listing:

1. Limelight

2. Digital Man

3. Entre Nous

4. Mission

5. Freewill

6. The Main Monkey Business

7. The Larger Bowl

8. Secret Touch

9. Circumstances

10. Between the Wheels

11. Dreamline


1. What’s Thats Smell (DVD Content)

2. 2007 Tour Outtakes

3. What’s That Smell Outtakes

4. FarCry (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)

5. The Way the Wind Blows (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)

6. Red Sector A from the R30 Tour

Disk 2:

1. FarCry

2. Workin’ Them Angels

3. Armour and Sword

4. Spindrift

5. The Way the Wind Blows

6. Subdivisions

7. Natural Science

8. Witch Hunt

9. Malignant Narcissism - De Slagwerker

10. Hope

11. Distant Early Warning

12. The Spirit of Radio

13. Tom Sawyer

14. One Little Victory

15. A Passage to Bangkok

16. YYZ

Disk 3:

Oh, Atlanta - The Authorized Bootlegs

1. Ghost of a Chance

2. Red Barchetta

3. The Trees

4. 2112/The Temples of Syrinx

1 comment:

firefly said...

Simply and totally an unbelievable band, believe it though - for a drummer who lost his own child and lover to come back and jam like he does ...
His books are great, too, rather long, but I'm enjoying the "Ghost Rider" which I haven't finised yet 'cause it's so long!